Arabic Bulgarian Chinese Deutsch Dutch English Espanol Francais Greek Hindi Italiano Japanese Magyar Polski
Portugues Romana Russian Turkish Ukrainian
News  -  Calendar  -  Call for Papers  -  Studies & Position Papers  -  Acta Astronautica  -  Commissions  -  Study Groups
Path of current page Home arrow About Us arrow IAA in Brief Friday, 27 March 2015
Site Search
IAA in Brief Print

16 August 1960, Stockholm, Sweden, by Theodore Von Karman. Independent non-governmental international organization recognized by the United Nations in 1996.

Foster the development of astronautics for peaceful purposes; Recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in a related branch of science or technology; Provide a program through which members may contribute to international endeavors; Encourage international cooperation in the advancement of aerospace science.

Regular Meeting (every two years). Board of Trustees (meets twice a year), consisting of: President; four Vice-Presidents and twenty-eight Trustees, seven from each Section: Basic Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Life Sciences, Social Sciences. Current President: Dr Madhavan G. Nair, Past-President: Prof Edward C. Stone, USA, Vice-Presidents: Mr Yannick d'Escatha, France; Prof Liu Jiyuan, China ; Dr Hiroki Matsuo, Japan; General Anatoly Perminov, Russia; Secretary General Dr Jean-Michel Contant, France.

The IAA celebrated its 50th Anniversary in November 2010 in a meeting at Washington DC. In this meeting thirty Heads of space agencies, welcomed the IAA Declaration to advocate renewed and enlarged cooperation in the area of human spaceflight, robotic space exploration, disaster management and climate change. Deliberations at this unprecedented Summit led to the need to have advanced research in other areas as well and specifically on cosmic studies.
In view of a proposed second Summit, the IAA is preparing grounds for concrete investigations through a number of studies and regional meetings focusing on programs, policy and plans in niche areas in science and technology pertaining to Astronautics. It is also preparing through a Summit Steering Committee and four Summit Coordinating Groups in the four Summit topics. Particular attention is being made to emerging space countries and former eastern European countries to take cognizance of their contributions and major involvement in the renewed cooperation. All major space agencies such as NASA, CNSA, JAXA and ISRO have recently reaffirmed their support to the initiatives of the International Academy of Astronautics. In this effort the Academy will pay attention not to duplicate efforts with existing organizations but to strengthen their contributions.
The last few years saw the establishment of several new space agencies in Algeria, Mexico, South Africa, etc. The Academy has welcomed among its newly elected members in 2012, eleven Heads of space agencies from Argentina, Canada, Guatemala, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Saudi Arabia, Thailand and the UK. The IAA Board of Trustees currently includes fourteen Heads or former Heads of space agencies. This unique environment will drive IAA to develop a forum for stimulating new international cooperation in the relevant areas of Space Science and Technology.

Establishment of cooperation with national academies: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (1985), the Austrian Academy of Sciences (1986, 1993), the Academy of Sciences of the Institute of France (1988, 2001), The Academy of Finland (1988), Indian Academy of Sciences (1990, 2007), The Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences (1989), German Academy of Sciences (1990), The Kingdom of Netherlands (1990), RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada (1991), the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (1992, 2002), the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (1992, 2002), the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (1994), Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (1995), Chinese Academy of Sciences (1996, 2013), the Academy of Sciences of Turin (1997), the Australian Academy of Sciences (1998), The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (1999), the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (2000), the U.S. National Institute of Medicine (2002), Academy of Sciences of South Africa (ASSAf) and the Royal Society of South Africa (2011), National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2010, 2012), the Pontifical Academy of Sciences (2012).

Acta Astronautica, the journal of the International Academy of Astronautics (monthly) published in English 24 Numbers in 12 books, 344 papers, and 3292 pages total. Impact factor: 0.578 (2009), 0.609 (2010) and 0.614 (2011). Ranking: 14th among 42 aerospace journals (2009), 9th among 43 aerospace journals (2010) and 8th among 45 aerospace journals (2011);
IAA is totaling 52 IAA Studies and dictionaries, many of them available at In 2012 IAA is publishing four new book series on small satellite, proceedings, remote sensing and history.


Full Members: 899, Corresponding Members: 277, in four sections and among 84 countries.
- Africa: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Libya, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia.
- Americas: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Cuba, Mexico, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela.
- Asia: Bahrain, Burma, China, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Malaysia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Vietnam.
- Europe: Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Rep., Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Ukraine.
- Oceania: Australia, New Zealand.

Dictionaries  -  Prog. Cttee  -  Paper Database  -  Site Map  -  Contact Us