Arabic Bulgarian Chinese Deutsch Dutch English Espanol Francais Greek Hindi Italiano Japanese Magyar Polski
Portugues Romana Russian Turkish Ukrainian
News  -  Calendar  -  Call for Papers  -  Studies & Position Papers  -  Acta Astronautica  -  Commissions  -  Study Groups
Path of current page Home arrow Multilingual arrow IAA in Brief arrow English arrow Brief Monday, 06 April 2020
Site Search
Brief Print

Founded: 16 August 1960, Stockholm, Sweden, during the 11th International Astronautical Congress, by Theodore Von Karman. Statutes revised: 1963, 1965, 1969, 1983, 1987 and 1998. Independent non-governmental organization recognized by the United Nations in 1996. Current President Dr. Madhavan G. Nair, India, Past-President Prof. Edward C. Stone, USA, vice-Presidents: Mr. Yannick d'Escatha, France; Prof. Anatoly Perminov, Russia; Prof. Liu Jiyuan, China; Dr. Hiroki Matsuo, Japan; Secretary General Dr. Jean-Michel Contant, France.

Aims: Foster the development of astronautics for peaceful purposes; recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in a related branch of science or technology; provide a program through which members may contribute to international endeavours; cooperation in the advancement of aerospace science.

Structure: Regular Meeting (every two years). Board of Trustees (meets twice a year), consisting of: President; four Vice-Presidents and twenty-eight Trustees, seven from each Section: Basic Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Life Sciences, Social Sciences.

Activities: Encourage international scientific cooperation through scientific symposia and meetings and the work of six specialized commissions: Space Physical Sciences, Space Life Sciences, Space Technology and System Development, Space System Operation and Utilization, Space Policy Law and Economy, Space and Society Culture and Education. A major initiative of the Academy is the development of a series of "Cosmic Studies" and ''Position Papers'' dealing with the many aspects of international cooperation endeavours in the exploration and habitation of the solar sytems and beyonds; the space debris, the small satellites, declaration of Principles Concerning Activities Following the Detection of Extraterrestrial Intelligence, EVA Safety and Space Suit Interoperability, Inexpensive Scientific Satellite Missions, Lunar and Martian Exploration, Next Steps in Exploring Deep Space, Space to promote Peace, Space Traffic Management, Knowledge Management in Space Activities, Cost Effective Earth Observation Missions.

Events: Establishment of cooperation with national academies: Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (1985), Austrian Academy of Sciences (1986, 1993), French Academy of Sciences (1988, 2001), Finnish Academy of Sciences (1988), Indian Academy of Sciences (1990), Spanish Academy of Sciences (1989), German Academy of Sciences (1990), Netherlands (1990), Canadian Academy of Sciences (1991), U.S. Academy of Sciences (1992, 2002), US Academy of Engineering (1992, 2002), Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (1994), Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (1995), Chinese Academy of Sciences (1996), Academy of Sciences of Turin (1997), Australian Academy of Sciences (1998), the Royal Netherlands Academy of Art and Sciences (1999), Brazilian Academy of Sciences (2000), US Institute of Medicine (2002), the Academy of Sciences of South Africa (ASSAf) (2011), the Royal Society of South Africa (2011), the Pontificia Academia Scientiarum (2012).

Publications: Acta Astronautica (monthly) published in English; IAA  e-newsletter; Proceedings of Symposia, Yearbook, Dictionaries and CD-ROM in 20 languages, Weekly News, Position Papers and Cosmic Studies, Book series, Scientific Papers Data Base on the IAA Web site.

Members: Full and Corresponding Members (active: 1200) in four Trustee Sections; Honorary members; members in 80 countries.
- Africa: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia.
- Americas: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Cuba, Mexico, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela.
- Asia: Armenia, Bahrain, China, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand.
- Australia: Australia.
- Europe: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Rep., Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Rumania, Russia, Serbia Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Ukraine.


























Dictionaries  -  Prog. Cttee  -  Paper Database  -  Site Map  -  Contact Us