Arabic Bulgarian Chinese Deutsch Dutch English Espanol Francais Greek Hindi Italiano Japanese Magyar Polski
Portugues Romana Russian Turkish Ukrainian
News  -  Calendar  -  Call for Papers  -  Studies & Position Papers  -  Acta Astronautica  -  Commissions  -  Study Groups
Path of current page Home arrow History arrow 2015 arrow Low-Cost Planetary Mission Tuesday, 31 March 2020
Site Search
11th LCPM Berlin, Germany Print
11th IAA Low-Cost Planetary Mission Conference (LCPM)

International Academy of Astronautics
11th IAA Low-Cost Planetary Mission Conference (LCPM)
June 09-11, 2015
Berlin, Germany


The 11th International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) Low-Cost Planetary Missions Conference, LCPM-11, was held on June 09-11, 2015 at the Archenhold Sternwarte (Einsteinroom) in Berlin, Germany.

RATIONALE: The focus of the 11th Low-Cost Planetary Missions Conference is on missions characterized by those of NASA's Discovery program and ESA's Cosmic Vision Small Class and Medium program. These missions of scientific exploration are conducted at a fixed cost that includes spacecraft and science payload development, launch, operations, science data analysis, and all relevant mission-specific technology development. Other relevant examples of low-cost planetary missions include JAXA's Hayabusa missions and ISRO's Chandrayaan-1 mission. In addition, the 11th LCPM will also provide a forum for the presentation of technical solutions and ideas for Nano- and Cube-Sats.

The conference is a forum for planetary scientists, technologists, engineers, project managers and agency officials to gather for the exchange of information and ideas for making this class of robotic mission richer scientifically while remaining affordably low-cost. The conference will be conducted fully in sequential plenary sessions, augmented by one or more poster sessions.


Please use the following link to submit your abstract:


Abstract submission deadline: March 2nd, 2015
Early registration deadline: April 4th, 2015


G. Madhavan Nair, President, IAA; Past Chair, ISRO
Hansjörg Dittus, Member of the Executive Board for Space Research and Technology, DLR


Tilman Spohn, DLR; IAA (Chair)
Gregg Vane, Caltech/JPL; IAA
Steven P. Arnold, Johns Hopkins University
Klaus Brieß, TU Berlin
Jörn Helbert, DLR
Ralph Jaumann, DLR
Yoshikawa Makoto, JAXA
Carol Raymond, JPL
Kim R. Reh, Caltech/JPL
Andreas Rittweger, DLR
Maria Cristina de Sanctis, IASP, INAF
Stephan Ulamec, DLR
Hajime Yano, JAXA


Tilman Spohn, DLR; IAA (Chair)
Barbara Stracke, DLR
Marina Korsitzky, DLR
Ulrich Köhler, DLR
Henriette Urban, ConTour GmbH



Scientific Program and Sessions

Session 1: Agency Programs and Plans for Future Low-Cost Planetary Missions
Tilman Spohn (DLR; IAA ), Gregg Vane (Caltech/JPL; IAA) and Hajime Yano (JAXA)

Session 2: Latest Science Results from On-Going Missions
Ralf Jaumann(DLR) and Maria Christina de Sanctis (IASP)

Session 3: Missions Currently Under Development for Launch in the Near Future
Stephan Ulamec (DLR) and Yoshikawa Makoto (JAXA)

Session 4: Science Instruments Enabling the Next Generation of Low-Cost Planetary Exploration
Joern Helbert (DLR) and Carol Raymond (JPL)

Session 5: Advanced Concepts for the Next Generation of Low-Cost Missions including Cubesats, NanoSats and others
Klaus Brieß (TU Berlin) and Kim R. Reh (Caltech/JPL)

Session 6: Low Cost Launchers
Andreas Rittweger (DLR) and Steven P. Arnold (Johns Hopkins University)

Key Dates
Jan 13th, 2015:       Opening of registration and contributed abstract (oral and poster) submission
Mar 2nd, 2015:        Abstract submission deadline
Apr 4th, 2015:         Early registration deadline
May 29th, 2015:      No refund of the registration fee after cancellation will be possible.
Jun 8th, 2015:         Icebreaker at the Archenhold Observatory
Jun 9-11th, 2015:   Conference
Jun 10th, 2015:       Reception and buffet dinner at the Berlin Museum of Natural History


The LCPM-11 will be held at the Archenhold Observatory in Berlin, which was founded in 1896 and is the oldest and largest public observatory in Germany. Its landmark is the enormous telescope, the longest refracting telescope on Earth, which has a focal length of 21 meters. Furthermore, the observatory possesses owns further modern telescopes and a Zeiss Minor Planetarium.
Archenhold Sternwarte

Alt-Treptow 1
12435 Berlin


For more detailed information, please visit the conference website at :

Dictionaries  -  Prog. Cttee  -  Paper Database  -  Site Map  -  Contact Us